association of caving instructors

Hiring a Caving Instructor

Caving InstructoesSome Instructors operate on a professional freelance or self-employed basis, and offer a wide range of caving activities. This can vary from single day introductory educational and adventure trips in a cave or abandoned mine suitable for beginners, (schools, families, Scouts, corporate teams, etc), through to one to one guiding over several days, or a programme of technical instruction in personal skills, rigging, and rescue delivered over a period of months. Whatever your interests or ability, ACI members will be able to tailor their instruction to meet your needs.

Although often specialising in particular caving areas, most will work throughout the UK and abroad. Many are also qualified in other activities and are able to provide instruction in rock climbing, gorge scrambling, mountaineering, canoeing, orienteering etc. Those who work with the under 18's will be licensed by the Adventure Activities Licensing Authority, and all will carry professional liability insurance. Protective clothing and specialist equipment will often be provided or available for hire.

In addition to instruction and guiding, ACI members are able to offer advice and guidance to organisations and clubs with regard to leadership, training and safety.

Discuss your requirements by contacting one of the CIC qualified Cave Instructors listed below:

Instructors

Derbyshire

Nigel Atkins

A: Wharfedale House, Springfield Close, Midway, Derbyshire DE11 0DB

E: nigel@pennineorganisation.com

T: 01283 210666

M: 07831 449919

W: http://www.cavertraining.co.uk

Phil Baker

A: Lyndhurst, The Avenue, Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley, S32 4TB

E: phil.baker@education.nottscc.gov.uk

T: 01433 631078

M: 07722017934

Adam Evans

A: 51 Granby Road, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17 7TJ

E: adam@outdoorinstruction.co.uk

M: 07900 927400

W: http://www.outdoorinstruction.co.uk/

John Geeson

A: 8 The Crescent, Bradwell, Hope Valley, Derbyshire S33 9HL

E: john.geeson@bradda.plus.com

T: 01433 621544

M: 07855 049281

Pete Knight

A: 12 Bowden Crescent, New Mills, Derbyshire, SK22 4LN

E: pete@peakinstruction.com

M: 07812 038233

W: http://www.undergroundspecialist.co.uk

Simon Mee

A: 5 Fox Lane, Bradway, Sheffield S17 4RL

E: rockman.outdoors@virgin.net

M: 07786 698184

W: http://www.simon-mee.co.uk

Kevin West

A: Shenfield, Hemming Green, Old Brampton, Derbyshire S42 7JQ

E: info.kevinwest@gmail.com

M: 07778 197462

Mendip, Devon and Cornwall

Chris Binding

A: 12 Harbour Road, Sherborne, Dorset, DT9 4AN

E: adventurecaving@gmail.com

T: 01935 816 267

M: 07968 275 969

W: http://www.undergroundadventures.co.uk

Olly Rees

A: 11 Rowan Way, Woolwell, Plymouth PL6 7SU

E: ollyhrees@gmail.com

M: 07812 715055

North Wales

Alan Braybrooke

A: 9 1/2 Acton Burnell, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY5 7PE

E: abraybrooke@hotmail.com

T: 01694 731554

M: 07713 972007

Chris Jowett

A: 14 Ttn Y Coed Road, Great Orme, Llandudno, Conwy LL30 2QA

E: cpjowett@hotmail.com

T: 01492 872937

M: 07950 028236

Dena Proctor

A: Ty Isaf Dinam, Llandrillo, Corwen, LL21 0TB

E: dena.p@btinternet.com

T: 01490 440208

Gethin Thomas

A: 1 John Street, Llanrwst, Conwy LL26 0DR

E: gethin.caving@me.com

T: 01690 710 500

M: 07768 740 648

Northern England and Scotland

Martin Barry

A: 3 Abbotsgate, Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria LA6 2JS

E: martinbarry549@hotmail.com

T: 015242 73534

M: 07850 248314

Chris Boardman

E: chris.boardman@gmail.com

T: 0121 415 6038

M: 07721 387621

Tony Boyle

A: Bewerley Park Ourdoor Centre, Pateley Bridge, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG3 5JB

E: tonyboyle@linone.net

T: 01423 711699

Pete Carter

A: Keepers Cottage, Dalemain, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 0HB

E: thepetecater@gmail.com

T: 01768 486965

M: 07720 077714

Chris Chilcot

A: 3 Station Road, Broadclyst, Devon, EX5 3AH

E: info@mobileadventure.co.uk

T: 01392758145

M: 07985782698

W: http://www.mobileadventure.co.uk

Graham Derbyshire

A: Sycamore House, Stainton, Penrith, Cumbria CA11 0EP

E: grahamjderbyshire@gmail.com

T: 017688 95418

M: 07739 134343

W: http://www.gdoutdoors.co.uk

Tony Flanagan

A: The Potting Shed (Honeywood), Riverside, Clapham, North Yorkshire LA2 8DR

E: flanagan63@btinternet.com

T: 015242 51208

M: 07876 402842

Dave Gallivan

A: Yorkshire Dales Guides, Barrel Sykes, Langcliffe, Settle, North Yorkshire BD24 9LP

E: dave@yorkshiredalesguides.co.uk

T: 01729 824455

M: 07887 505152

W: http://www.yorkshiredalesguides.co.uk

Joe Gittins

A: 10 Wandsworth Gardens, Shap, Cumbria CA10 3PE

E: allterrainadventures@hotmail.co.uk

M: 07764 182328

W: http://www.allterrainadventures.co.uk

Michael Hale

A: 6 Railway Cottages, Selside, Horton in Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire BD24 0HY

E: michaelsluggo@gmail.com

T: 01729 860478

M: 07881 602265

Dominic Hoare

A: 34 Ulster Road, Bowerham, Lancaster LA1 4AH

E: dominicjhoare@yahoo.co.uk

T: 01524 60473

M: 07789 937210

Chris Jackson

A: 14 Newton Gardens, Ripon, North Yorkshire HG4 1QF

E: junglejackson@talktalk.net

T: 01765 601439

M: 07973 792143

Dan Liddy

A: Jane's Cottage, 1 Green View, West Burton, DL8 4JL

E: dan@lowmill.com

M: 07807 054501

Tony Liddy

A: 52 Ripon Way, Carleton Miniott, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, YO7 4LR

E: tony@howstean.co.uk

T: 07818 553394

Simon McCabe

A: Castle Cottage, Leeming Lane, Burton in Lonsdale, North Yorkshire LA6 3LD

E: simonhmccabe@gmail.com

T: 015242 62179

M: 07711 316958

Duncan Morrison

A: Greensteads, Newby, nr Clapham, North Yorkshire LA2 8HR

E: duncan@aboveandbelow.org.uk

T: 015242 51011

W: http://www.aboveandbelow.org.uk

Stuart Page

A: 17 Cherry Tree Drive, Filey, YO14 9UZ

E: spage62@talktalk.net

M: 07979 562813

Lee Paskin

A: 1 Riley Street, Earby, Nr Skipton, Lancashire BB18 6NX

E: info@leepaskin.co.uk

T: 015242 51265

M: 07973 695 625

Ian Patrick

A: 29 Oakdene Close, Pudsey, Leeds, LS28 9LW

E: mail.ianpatrick@gmail.com

M: 07711 422010

George Plant

A: 34 Back Lane, Sowerby, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, YO7 1JD

E: george@nyy.org.uk

M: 07738 861243

Tom Redfern

E: tomredfern@orange.fr

Geoff Storey

A: Ghyll Croft, Coates Lanes, Starbottom, Skipton, North Yorkshire BD23 5HZ

E: gstorey@verticalair.co.uk

T: 01756 761258

M: 07774 193067

W: http://www.verticalair.co.uk

South Wales

Victoria Arnold

A: Pentwyn Farmhouse, Llanfeugan, Llanfrynach, Brecon LD3 7BQ

E: vicky@trewern.org.uk

T: 01497 820512

Gary Evans

A: Garreg Wen, Golden Grove, Llanarthney, Carmarthenshire SA32 8JR

E: gary@hawkassociates.co.uk

T: 01558 668878

M: 07836 748752

W: http://www.adventurewales.com

Richard Hill

A: Bellever, Glasbury, Hereford HR3 5LL

E: rickahill@yahoo.com

T: 01497 842936

M: 07876 193745

W: richardhill.port5.com

Martin Jackson

A: cefn Coed Annex, Llanafan Fawr, Builth Wells, Powys, LD2 3NE

E: martin.jackson78@talk21.com

M: 07515 016 400

W: http://www.beacons-caving.com

Andy Lewington

A: Pendarren House, Llangenny, Crickhowell, Powys NP8 1HE

E: a.lewington@pendarren.org

T: 01873 810 694

M: 07854 698 738

Juliet Parker-Smith

A: c/o Trewern OEC, Cusop, Hay on Wye, Herefordshire HR3 5RF

E: juliet@trewern.org.uk

T: 01497 820512

Tom Partridge

A: 1 East Drive, St Donats, Llantwit Major, CF61 1HJ

E: tompartridge@ymail.com

M: 07725172949